Bog filter for plants.

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hello. I am new to ponds I recently bought a wooden raised pond (175 gallons) I haven’t set up yet , I am really sold on the idea of a bog filter , but I have no idea or time to make one . I know this is a custom project but I don’t have the tools or the exposure to the parts needed to build one . Is there anyway someone can build it for me (I think a 20 gallon container will do just fine) and I will get the pump, I will pay for the labor and shipping . I’m sorry if this sounds dumb I Just wanted to see if it was a possibility. I Just the pvc plumbing part done and just basically have to box ready to install . Let me know if anyone is up to the task . Thank you in advance :)

Mmathis

TurtleMommy
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
Hello and welcome!

Where do you live? Maybe you could put out some feelers in your area, to see if there are any handy people who could help you. Maybe there is a koi/goldfish/garden club near you — you could ask them for help.

addy1

water gardener / gold fish and shubunkins
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
Welcome to the forum.

It could be done and shipped, shipping would be a hit, size and weight. Where you live would help.

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
You may be making this harder than you think - you can create a bog filter out of a any sturdy container. A planter box, a sturdy tote, etc. A few easy to obtain plumbing parts and you'd be in business.

However, another idea would be to buy a small waterfall filter and use the bog at your bog filter. It's already plumbed and ready to go. Just fill it with stone and plant the top and voila! Bog filter! Not recommending this brand in particular, but the first one that came up in my search: