Bog plant getting burned by sun

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
Zone 9a
Country
United States
About a week ago I put some blue moneywort (Lindernia grandiflora) in my fountain pond. My pond has a bird bath that had really bad string algae growth so I cleaned it out and added this plant to help prevent that from occurring again. I'm using fabric pots and the pond plant media by API and the plants roots are submerged in 3". I noticed their stems are getting burnt and turning kind of red. Some of the leaves are wilting as well. They're in direct sunlight most of the day and it's going to heat up to 100°F this weekend.

Should I cover them up w/ some temporary shade until they're established in the pond more? Or should I keep them exposed to the sun light and see if they adapt to it? Any one have experience w/ this plant and can give me some advice? I really like this plant and want it to do well. This is my first time adding plants to my pond so I don't have a lot of experience w/ them.

Last edited:
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8A
Country
United States
I could be wrong but I am understanding that the roots of the plant are below the surface of the water. This plant is a ground cover used on the edges of ponds. If it is submerged it is literally drowning. They do prefer shade as well.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
Zone 9a
Country
United States
Ok, thank you! I was reading that it could be planted both ways. I got the idea to use these plants from a youtube video where he just submerged the roots of the plants and it grew out fine. Guess it's not working out for me so I'll have to move them and try a different plant.

Do you think creeping jenny would fair better? Or do you have any recommendations for a low growing bog plant that would do well in these conditions?

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
Zone 9a
Country
United States
@Lisak1 hi, thank you!