Bottom Drain - Installation and Freezing

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
8a
Country
Austria
Hi Guys,

I've got a couple of questions about bottom drains and how they cope over winter.... i've never worked with these before, so bear with me if some of the questions are a bit daft.

1. Can anyone provide a link to a good guide on how to install a bottom drain? It's clear i need to make a hole in the bottom of the liner at the lowest point and run a pipe underground to the pump, but what is the best way to secure it etc - concrete pad, screws, fixings etc?

2. What stops the smaller fish from being sucked into the bottom drain?

3. I live in an area where it can hit -20C in winter. The water in the bottom drain pipe is going to freeze.... how do you avoid the pipe splitting? Obviously the choice of materials is important, PVC probably? and also disconnecting the main pump during winter and leaving the bottom drain pipe open to allow for water expansion.... any other ideas?

cheers,

Andy.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
How deep is your pond?
There is a gap of about a 1/2" between the dome and the bottom drain. If a fish is smaller than that and your BD goes to your pump you can say goodbye to the fish.
If your filter system is gravity fed and you have a settling chamber you just retrieve your fish and put it back in the pond.
http://www.koiclay.com/diy/pg4.htm

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
8a
Country
Austria
Hi DoDad,

The pond doesn't exist yet, which is why i'm looking around for all the tips on how to build this.... when it is built it should be about 5' deep at the deepest point.

The link you provided is *exactly* the type of guide i've been looking for :frown:

Some of my fish are small... if they turned on their sides they could get through a 1/2" gap.... i'm going to have to think about the filtering arrangements afterwards then.

Cheers,

Andy

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5a