Bottom Drain

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hi everyone

So I'm a novice, bought a house with a pond a couple of years ago and have been taking care of it.
I went to open for the spring and am having issue I hope someone can help me with.
I have a bottom drain (I think that's what it's called) that I use to get out so of the sludge etc.
I opened it and am only getting a trickle, usually it flows real think (and dirty) and then clear, and I close it.
Everything else seems normal, I got the waterfall back on, added my spring chemicals, but nothing coming out the bottom drain when I open it.
Is it clogged??
To be honest I don't even know where in the bottom it comes from, only where it comes out, any ideas, suggestions, thoughts. Would be greatly appreciated! Thank you!
Adam

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6 A
Country
United States
I don't have a bottom drain, but I think you have a blockage. The BD should be on the bottom of your pond. Do you have any means of snaking the line?

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
13b
normally if u see inside u may find the hole ie pipe coming from pond , if u insert a hose and back pressure it , u might b able to open it ... 1st do this at the outlet where u drain it .

Reaction score
Country
United States
I have tried snaking it and running hose in back, still seems to be clogged, anyone have other ideas or thoughts, it would be greatly appreciated!
I also have a lot (more than usual) of swarms of bugs (midges?) around pond, is this related?
Thanks for your help .

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
13b
I have tried snaking it and running hose in back, still seems to be clogged, anyone have other ideas or thoughts, it would be greatly appreciated!
I also have a lot (more than usual) of swarms of bugs (midges?) around pond, is this related?
Thanks for your help .
hmm other thing u can check the end which is inside pond see if things blocking it ? cant think more , one thing is use some hard wire smthing like that which can go in