breeding fish!

Reaction score
Hi, its my first time on a forum so I hope you can understand me.
I have had my pond set up for 3 years now, it is around 12' long and 4' wide going to abot 5' at its deepest end. It has a waterfall running the full length of the pond, stocked with plants and lots of iding places.
I originally stocked the pond with 12 fish, goldfish,comets,shubunkins. This year it appears as though they are breeding as each week the majority of the fish have chased one poor fish relentlessly. From the 12 I had it appears as though only 3 were females as I have only seen the others chase these 3 around. Over the past 3 weeks 2 of my suspected females have died. Yesterday I found the 3rd beached on an old plant pot I have in the pond. At first I thought she was dead and was going to take her out of the pond when I saw her move her fin, so I drpped her back into the main water and she swam away. Half an hour later she was back in the same place, did the same again and low and behold later in the day dhe was back there. I came to the conclusion she was probably hiding from the males so I left her there. Lter I found her in another part of the pond secreted away in the corner with alot of the other fish trying to get to her. I decided this fish was exhausted so I put a small tank in my pond where the waterfall will refresh the water and put her in it. Don't know if I have done right and don't know what to do next. I don't want to lose another fish, though I know it happens, these 2 are the only ones I have lost so far. Should I try to purchase some more females?
I check my water regularly and do water changes and have never had a problem with the tests, has anyone any advice they can give, Thanks agh100

addy1

water gardener / gold fish and shubunkins
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States