Bring in the fish

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5b
Country
United States
im not sure where this would go so im putting it here becuase this is my first year with a pond. the pond is not deep enough for the fish to live in for the winter and its just going to be mostly ice. we arent getting a heater so i need to know everything there is to know about keeping my fish inside for the winter. i have a spare 40 gal tank that i was planing on making a larger multi species vivarium for my green anole and tree frogs. that can wait however. the fish arent big and they are 2 shebunkin 9 comets and 12 rosies. thats to my knowledge some could have died or gotten killed by animals. thats just an estimate. we are planing on keeping them in there. later in the winter or maby in the fall im planing on upgrading my bearded dragons tank so i will have an even bigger tank open. this is a 55 gal and my grandparents used to keep there fish in it for the winter. i need to know
how to catch all the fish
how to care for the fish
what to feed them
what lighting they need
water temp
what plants (i like plants with my animals)
and anything else somebody who needs to know about fish should know.
the last time i owned a fish was close to 8ish years ago because i got my leopard gecko a year after that so i have forgotten everything i should know to care for fish. also i can feed the fish lots of differant foods like prickly pear dandelion greens earthworms mealworms crickets and other thing that lizards would usually eat

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5b
Country
United States
im not sure how the zone thing works but i think im in 5b wich should be around chicago. the pond isnt realy that deep, i think its only about 2 1/2 ft deep the deep part is only like 1 ft by 2 ft and the pond its self is possibly 10ft by 8ft most of it is realy shallow and like a half a foot deep and then the middle drops off quite quickly.

Reaction score
Showcase(s):