Brown “slime”

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hi! Please forgive me if this post is too wordy, it’s my first post. I’m a newbie with a pondless waterfall flowing into a 22’ long stream. I’m located in Sacramento, CA and my set up gets morning sun for a bit, shade the rest of the day until late afternoon at which point it gets a solid two hours of sun.
I’m pretty sure I had diatoms recently. All the rocks within the the stream were turning brown. Not that hairy looking type of brown stuff, just brownish rust color. I turned off my stream for about a month, removed all the rocks and scrubbed everything down. I just turned everything back on last week and I can see spots appearing on the rocks just like last time. Since I’m pondless I don’t have fish but I do have 4 plants in the stream at different spots along the length of the stream.
I don’t have pictures when everything under water was covered with the brown slime. I panicked and didn’t think about taking a pic. I do have a pic of the spots that just appeared. The rocks in the pictures are used for the bottom of the stream. I’ve already turned everything off so the rocks are dry and the spots look more yellow. When the water was covering them they looked brown/slightly green.
Any ideas on what I should do. I have barely been able to enjoy my stream.

Attachments

• 8BD0CEE3-5142-40D2-8494-33C6F27DAAE5.jpeg
    8BD0CEE3-5142-40D2-8494-33C6F27DAAE5.jpeg
    218.9 KB · Views: 121
  • F9F6C03D-B6D1-4EF7-8647-23C5A9FEC706.jpeg
    F9F6C03D-B6D1-4EF7-8647-23C5A9FEC706.jpeg
    204.6 KB · Views: 115
  • 5C4BEAA7-6B2C-404F-9060-1BF8068BAFE1.jpeg
    5C4BEAA7-6B2C-404F-9060-1BF8068BAFE1.jpeg
    226.7 KB · Views: 146
Reaction score
Country
United States
Welcome to the GPF @Garden girl 143 !

I'm a little confused why you panicked at the sight of algae. It's basically par for the course when you have water.

Thank you! :)