Brownish water from the fall leaves?

brandonsdad02

They call me Ryan
Reaction score
Ok so I live in central Iowa and its fall here right now. This is my first year having a pond so I'm not sure what to expect in the fall. I've been working hard to keep the leaves out of the pond, I use the net and get as many leaves out of the pond each day, I empty the skimmer but my water is still turning brownish. Does this happen to every pond in the fall or am I doing something wrong??

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5b
Country
United States
It sounds like you are on the right track. I think certain leaves can leave a brown tinge. In the spring that happens to my pond and then it clears up after a couple weeks. I think there is a lot of pollen from a cottonwood tree above my pond that turns it brown. You can always try doing some partial water changes or use some quilt batting in a basket under your waterfall. There a lot of old threads on the forum on quilt batting. The brown water is probably not hurting your fish, it just makes it harder for you to see them. If you end up with a lot or organic matter in your pond over the winter you need to get the water moving in the early spring to reduce anaerobic decay and keep cleaning the leaves. I start my pump around March 1st. Spring is more dangerous for fish then winter is.

fishin4cars

True friends just call me Larkin
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8a
In most cases the brown water is caused from tannins in the leaves or plant matter. Different leaves put off different levels of tannins. Some leaves can cause the PH to lower during the breakdown, This is not good but as long as it's brown water and the water is stable it won't harm the fish. Your on the right track removing the leaves, this keeps the breakdown to a minimum and helps your pond next spring greatly. Does it happen to every pond, NO, is this fairly common, yes, and your doing what your suppose to be doing.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone