Bueno

Reaction score
Greetings pond lovers! Although I'm new to water gardens, I have been a lanscape contractor, designer, gardener, and native plant enthusist. I'm interested in building a koi pond out of a galvanized stock tank. I have an area to store the external pump and water spout fall. Just wanting to glean any information for personal use. IMG_9457-001.JPG
Thanks for any input as I try to figure out a filter and pump assembly. Greggo

addy1

water gardener / gold fish and shubunkins
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
to our group!

The stock tank might be to small for koi, they need lots of room and water, they grow to over 2 feet. Some say a 1000 gallons for the first one. If it was mine I would put in shubunkins, gf etc rather than koi.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7a
Country
United Kingdom
I keep hearing this 1,000 gallon saying and its utter Rubbish come on a 1,000 gallons for the first one, then what about the rest 100 gallons so why is the first 1.000 gallons?
Is it really greedy koi , is it a giant koi no its a koi so 100 gallons should do it per koi .
Our on pond is a former QT pond for a koi dealership and is capable of handling over 100 6-12" koi, not that We'd do that, but it just goes to show its a rule thats stupid to say the very least

rgrds

Dave

addy1

water gardener / gold fish and shubunkins
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
lol I don't have koi just saying what I have read over and over, no personal experience.

Much prefer my gf and shubunkins.

sissy

sissy
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States
welcome and yep that is to small as they get big very big .Mine are over 2 feet long after 9 years

Reaction score
Dave 54 said:
I keep hearing this 1,000 gallon saying and its utter Rubbish come on a 1,000 gallons for the first one, then what about the rest 100 gallons so why is the first 1.000 gallons?