Build waterfall from scratch or use pre-fabbed wier?

Reaction score
Hello -- I am a newbie building my first small pond. Will be approx a 3x8 foot rectangle about 18" deep -- approx 300 gallons, partly above ground. Will have just a few small goldfish and some waterlillies.

My questions:

1) For the waterfall, should I use a pre-fabbed wier box or should I build it from scratch? All of the pre-fabbed wier boxes I find on the web are +/- 16" wide. But that seems too big for the size of pump I will have. I was thinking of a pump rated for around 800 gph at 0 ft head, which should deliver around 400 gph to the waterfall. Based on the rule of thumb I've read that a waterfall should be 1" wide for every 100-150 gph, that leaves me with a 3" to 4" wide wier/waterfall. Are my assumptions correct so far? If so, is there such thing as a pre-fabbed wier 4" wide? Or for something this small is it recommended to build one from scratch? If that's the case, can someone point me to recommended construction method?

2) I was also intending to have the filtration in the waterfall basin (wier box). a) Do I need filtration for a pond this size? b) Is the waterfall basin/wier box a good place to put it? c) Do pre-fabbed wier boxes generally automatically come with filtration media? d) If not, can I add my own after?

I'm a very handy person and am comfortable building whatever necessary. But if there is something pre-fabbed that will save me a lot of time and headache (without being too expensive) that would be great.

Thanks in advance!

addy1

water gardener / gold fish and shubunkins
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
Welcome to our group!

Just a few ??'s are you going to bring in the fish for the winter? 18 inches might freeze solid where you are.