Bullfrog White bloated eyes

Reaction score
Country
United States
Any insight into what is going on with my 8-10 yr old bullfrog's eyes. Is it a parasite, bacteria or too many hot dogs. My other younger one is fine. Hoping he isnt blind. Lives in 3500 gal natural garden koi pond.

Attachments

• 20180529_175201.jpg
    20180529_175201.jpg
    83.9 KB · Views: 401
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
8a
Country
United States
Welcome @Kyokochinadoll , I am by no means an expert on disease in animals (especially in frogs) but cloudy eyes in fish (and frogs) is almost always an indication of an infection. Now it would be hard to say if it's a parasitic infection or bacterial infection so you may want to seek professional help at a veterinarian. Maybe others will chime in soon that may have more experience with frogs and or illness/disease in amphibians.

Jhn

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7b
Country
United States
Any insight into what is going on with my 8-10 yr old bullfrog's eyes. Is it a parasite, bacteria or too many hot dogs. My other younger one is fine. Hoping he isnt blind. Lives in 3500 gal natural garden koi pond.
Are you actually feeding the bullfrogs hotdogs? Is it kept in a tank or out in your pond?

One cause of cloudy eyes is over feeding and too much fat in their diet.

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Are you actually feeding the bullfrogs hotdogs?

OHHHHHH! Hotdogs! I read that as hot dogs - like dogs that were too hot and I was like how in the heck would overheated dogs affect a bullfrog? Haha!

Your frog looks like he has cataracts. Is there such a thing?

Reaction score
Country
United States
Are you actually feeding the bullfrogs hotdogs? Is it kept in a tank or out in your pond?

One cause of cloudy eyes is over feeding and too much fat in their diet.