Can I let my plants root in the gravel substrate?

Reaction score
I am new to pond keeping and am about to add some plants to my pond. I have some plastic pots, but I would like to just let some root naturally in the gravel at the bottom of the pond. I have some four-leaf clovers, rice grass, watercress, and umbrella palms. I would also like to try native plants, like Lobelia cardinalis and bulrushes. One end of the pond is about 1 foot deep with gravel at the bottom. The gravel is about 4-5 feet deep- that is according to the home's previous owner; I haven't dug down in there. There is a small waterfall that separates the levels- the other level is about 5 feet deep with some potted plants on concrete shelves. I have been told the shallow end is for a bog garden, so that is where I'd like to let plants root in gravel. What are the potential downsides to this? Does every plant need to be potted? The pond came with the house, btw. I would appreciate any insight. I live in USDA zone 5. I would also like to keep some native crayfish in the shallow end. The koi and goldfish live in the deep end. Anyone have a setup like this?

addy1

water gardener / gold fish and shubunkins
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
The plants would do fine rooting in the gravel, the one issue you would have, if you want to divide them, move them, the roots can be extensive and hard to get the plant out. The plants that grow in my pea gravel bog send roots everywhere, most I can pull and yank out, some are darn tough to get out.

j.w

I Love my Goldies
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
USDA 8a
Country
United States
Some of us here use 100% clay kitty litter w/ no other additives in it like perfume etc. to plant our potted plants in. You can buy it at Wal-mart.............a 25lb bag for around $3.00. Name on the bag is called "Special Kitty" 100% clay litter on the bag.

Reaction score