Can I turn a water fountain into a small pond?

Reaction score
Hello,

So I'm new to pond care/management. My experience has only been in aquariums, but I love animals and I am always looking for ways to have them around me! Any-hew, my parents have this water fountain in their backyard that has a (I'm guessing) 20-ish gallon basin that the water goes into. It has a filter that sucks up the water up to a face that pours the water back down. The basin is half-moon shaped with straight walls that give some depth to it. My question is this: is there a way to make this into a livable space for fish and if so, what kind of fish can live in there? I've done some research and know most goldfish and koi are out of the question, by far! I live in California so it stays pretty warm most of the year. During winter it gets a little cold and rainy. Any ideas would be very helpful.

p.s. I've asked my parents if they wanted me to build them a large pond, but they aren't too keen on it :regular_waving_emot

cheers

Reaction score
Truly, honestly, really, this is way too small for a "pond."

It will be a nightmare to make it liveable, keep clean and have fish survive in it. The water will get too warm, the claening along will have to be constant. And how the heck would you filter it?

A fountain is meant to be a fountain. And that's what this is.

oldmarine

Married 32 years
Reaction score
Hi Falcon, I lived in the east Bay area for twelve years and loved the weather. It was the people that were a bit too liberal for me. Yes, I'm a right wing, jarhead, redneck, and not the hill billy type either.

Would it be possible for you to replace the fountain basin with a plastic molded pond like the ones that Lowes and/or Home Depot sell? If so, by replacing your fountain basin with a molded pond you could easily support at least some gold fish, floating aquatic plants, and a water lily.