Can or will Koi jump out of the pond?

Reaction score
I am a newbie, I just bought a home with an 1800 Gal koi pond. I have not been having any luck with it so far. I bought 4 fairly large koi ( about 7/8 inch) and put them in my pond on a Saturday. By the next Saturday they were all gone. I found a water snake in the midst of eating the last one. So we took apart the waterfall (thats where they were living) got rid of the snakes then put it back together with foam in between the rocks to help keep any future snakes out. Went out and bought 4 more large Koi. Within the past few weeks I have found 2 of them laying just outside of the pond, dead. Do Koi jump or what would be killing them but not eating them? Any advice?
Also, saw another small snake swimming around in there within the past few days. Is there any way to keep snakes away? I have spread something on the ground called "Snake Away" but apparently it does not work.
Thanks
Julie

koiguy1969

GIGGETY-GIGGETY!!
Reaction score
yes, koi will jump. they will jump when put in a new enviroment. when in poor quality water.(low ph, high ammonia, etc..) netting off the pond is a good idea when putting in new fish. especially the first few days.

Reaction score
yes, koi will jump. they will jump when put in a new enviroment. when in poor quality water.(low ph, high ammonia, etc..) netting off the pond is a good idea when putting in new fish. especially the first few days.
Hmm, I guess I should invest in some water testing equipment. Can anyone recommend a kit to start out with? I have taken water samples into the local pet store to have tested and was told it looks good. I do have an algae problem right now, I have been trying to get a handle on that. These fish have been in the pond about 3 weeks when I found them. By netting off the pond you mean skimming a net around to get the dead or other debris out, I do this almost everyday.

Reaction score