Central FL pond build

Reaction score
Hello,

I finally started building my pond.

It's framed out of wood, 2' deep, 8' wide by 12' long.
pond 812.JPG
pond 814.JPG
pond 844.JPG
pond 855.JPG

I have been so focused on getting this built that I haven't given much thought to what type of filter to use.
I'm still a newbie, but I've been reading here a lot, so any suggestions would help.

I'm going to have lots of plants very few goldfish - no koi

1. How big of a pump do I need and how large would the piping be.
2. Submersible of external?
3. Bottom drain yes/no?
4. need ideas on how to filter it - if at all

I planned on a bottom drain, and to bring the pump supply through the wall but now that that part of the build has arrived I am chickening out about making holes in my liner.

I already have a 1000 gph submersible pump that was given to me, will that be of any use?

Help!

addy1

water gardener / gold fish and shubunkins
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
That is around 1440 gallons if you want to turn the water over twice an hour you would need a pump that is around 2100 gph. I turn my pond over once an hour, it does fine (no koi)
I used 2 inch pvc for most of my lines, a few are 3 inch. Less resistance.

Bottom drain is up to you. I just use a net to clean out any debris.

I prefer external pumps, but you have a nice submersible, but again you would not be cycling your pond water as much as some recommend.

sissy

sissy
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States