Chemical vs UV

Reaction score
Wondering what opinions are out there concerning using chemicals vs UV or both together? In particular using Pond Cares Microbial Algae Clean. The info I read says its EPA approved safe, and works in about a month to clear 90% of the algae.

In general are chemicals that claim to be natural or at least fish safe good for ponds with fish?

I've been trying, at the suggestion of our local garden center/pond supply store, Pond Cares Ecofix to clear my pond water. My guess is since my algae is still alive and well it's not effective at clearing the water. The bottle does say it breaks down DEAD algae and increases oxygen levels.

Thanks!!

slakker

AKA Mike
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
For me neither, I'm going to focus on natural balance of the eco-system. From biological/mechanical filtration to using plants... Not sure if I can do it, as I'm new to ponds myself, but that's the philosophy I use in reef aquariums.

sissy

sissy
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States
same here neither .Not in 9 years almost first year I did try 2 things and then read the bottle after that nothing. That was in my first preformed pond .Plus the cost ,I am cheap .

crsublette

coyotes call me Charles
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6a
Choosing chemicals or UV depends on the context. They each have their own unique role and neither are the final solution to it all.

There are many oxidizers that are natrually created in nature, but they are created at such of a low concentration that it is not noticeable. Concentration is what determines if something is "less" natural or not. Arsenic, for example, is produced quite naturally in our ponds in very low concentrations, but it is extremely deady when we manufacture it to be at much higher concentrations.