Concrete vs liner

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6a
Country
United States
I've looked for threads about this but couldn't find any. If there are any there that I can't find, please direct me.........

Of course now that this summer I dug and finished my 800 gallon liner-pond at my dad's house, we bought a house of our own and need to do it all over again. My fiancé works for a concrete company now and has made plans for this coming summer to dig (has backhoe & excavator lined up) and build me a bigger pond made of concrete. We do realize it has to be cured and possibly sealed in some way. But does anyone have any experience with a pond made of concrete? Are there any major concerns I should have with respect to water quality from the concrete? I'm still new to this ponding thing and I want to do things the right way for my fish.

I had no idea my fiancé was planning this for this summer! I had already made up my mind that I was going to house my fish in stock tanks until NEXT summer, but I'm told it's going to happen this year! I'm excited that my fish are going to have an even bigger space to live, but the idea of concrete is foreign. Any thoughts, ideas or suggestions that might help me with this new endeavor??? Only have a few months to plan for this!!!

Thanks in advance!!!

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6a
Country
United States
Thanks! Like most on here, I've learned over the years what to do & what NOT to do, but this concrete idea just never crossed my mind! Actually, I'll be moving from here in PA out your way in Ohio to Fayette County!

sissy

sissy
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States