"Connecting" 2 above ground ponds

Reaction score
Hi, I'm new to using preformed ponds, but we moved from our own home to a leased home in another home while I'm playing middle-aged grad student, so any pond is better than no pond.

What I have is 2 200-gallon preformed ponds. Per advice, I put one pond in the back on a solid block foundation. This pond has a U-shape cut out in the edge that I want as the outflow into the second pond, which is not on blocks. I am going to build a tote filter, again as per advice, behind the upper pond and the pump will sit in the lower pond making a closed circuit from the lower pond to the tote to the upper pond back to the lower pond.

My question today is how to get the water from the upper pond to the lower pond. Again, these are above ground. The upper pond already had the U-shape cut out when I bought it off of Craigslist. I need to make some type of lip and then glue it in, right? What can I make it out of and what type of adhesive should I use?

After I accomplish this step, then, I will be asking questions about the tote filter, lol.

After all of this is running without leaks, I am going to surround the ponds with a retaining wall of either blocks or timbers and then filled in with soil. I know people say this won't last because the ponds are not in the ground, but they only have to last 3 years.

Thanks!

Marie IMG_0016.JPG

addy1

water gardener / gold fish and shubunkins
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
I would take a small piece of liner/ rubber/ , use some pl roofing goop glue it to the inside of the top one. Across the bottom and up the sides, then drape it into the bottom one.

Or you could cut the bottom of the edge flatter, get a good rubber dustpan, cut it to size, (you need sides on it to keep the water in) use my favorite pl roofing goop seal it up good and now you have a water fall weir.