Constructing a rectangular Koi pond with 12 gauge Stainless steel

Reaction score
Country
Australia
Hi I am a Newbie to the Forum and I am at the initial stage of deciding what material to use to build the pond. Dimensions are Length 16' x Width 8.2' and depth 4'. The stainless steel thickness is 12 gauge. The pond or tank will have its walls supported by welded square tubing to at 4 locations 1 feet part starting at the base vertically going upwards ending at the lip of the Tank at the Top. I am also considering coating the inside walls of the tank with a fish safe waterproof membrane ( spray or paint method to ensure there the weld joints of the tank is sealed ( not sure of this is necessary ) . A large hole will be created and be lined with waterproof membrane , so that there is no reaction of the soil to the stainless steel tank . The hole will be compacted and levelled prior to placing the tank. The portion of the tank above the ground will be covered with brick work to cover with nice brick work and forming a ledge to sit and watch.

Some questions :
1) have anyone considered stainless steel as a pond/tank construction Vs rubber liners, concrete or Fibre glass ( with rising cost )
2) I am not sure if the gauge thickness and welding joints can take the water pressure - although I am using welded square tubing ( GAUGE 11 wall thickness ) welded at corners all round the tank. ( if this is necessary )
3) Stainless steel can be welded or holes cut to provide for pipe fittings and drainage ( at bottom ) for screw type coupling or welded to stainless steel spout for filters and pump which I am yet to work on - would appreciate advise on the pumps and filter ( especially capacity of pumps and size of filter