Converting 15,000 gallon in ground pool into a Garden Pond

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hello all!

I am very new to this, so please forgive the stupid questions. I have some experience with keeping fish and reptiles, but am completely new to the pond game and really am pretty new to having a pool as well. I just bought a house with a 15,000 gallon chlorine pool in Shelby, NC and after one summer I am already sick of it. I have watched tons of videos on converting it to a pond and it seems pretty doable, but I definitely have some issues specific to my pond I would like answered if possible.

First off, do I need a pond liner? My pool already has a liner and it is pretty decent shape, the only potential issue being a drain at the bottom and the skimmer on the side but if the pump is turned off I can't imagine those are issues. I see so many videos where people are digging areas, laying down fabrics/liners, and then filling it in with water. I am just curious as to whether or not I need a pond liner on top of the pool liner. I think it would require me to drain the pool and refill it which I would rather not do.

Is it even possible to set up my pool pump and filter to work for my pond? I think this is a quick no due to the sheer power that the pump sucks with and I would imagine many animals would fall victim to the skimmer. But if there was a way to lower the pressure it would be incredibly convenient to already have a pump/filter/aerator built in to the area.

How necessary is a filter? I have seen several backyard ponds that only had a pump/aerator for oxygen. I dont know if I am missing the part where they mention it or if it really is possible to make this work without a filter? If I do need a filter, any DIY recommendations for that?

I also have a million other questions that I cannot think of so please, any other information you think might be handy feel free to add in.

Thank you!!

j.w

I Love my Goldies
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone