Converting a pool to a pond: what can we reuse/bog plan critique.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
~9a
Country
United States
I am planning to build a bog to convert an old pool into a pond.
I've never done anything like this before, so sorry if I'm a bit ignorant.
As for the goal, I'm not expecting perfect water clarity, but I want the water to be 'healthy' enough for aquatic plants and a few accompanying fish + an occasional swim.

Here are some pictures of the pool currently:
IMG_20210615_140323493_HDR.jpg

The pool is ~6' on the deep side and ~3' on the shallow side.
IMG_20210615_124030241_HDR.jpg

The current 'infrastructure' in the building next to the pool (pump, piping, filter):
img_20210615_123907750-jpg.140313

I'm planning on removing the deck in the back of the pool yard and digging out a space there for the bog.
Here's a rough concept drawing of what I'm planning, but I'm open to changes if necessary.
plan.jpg

bogplans.jpg

I've read the post here: https://www.gardenpondforum.com/threads/bog-building.6894/, and I intend to follow it as a rough guide.

Since there is a layer of concrete coping surrounding the pool, I'm planning on having the bog's water flow over it back into the pool. It's different from the guide, but will this work okay?

Before I go out and start buying a pump/piping/pond liner/etc, I'm wondering if I can use any of the existing pool's plumbing.
I figure the solar water heater and the current filter will have to go, but can I at least use the existing underground~1.5-2" pipes and pump?
Now, they go from drain->filter/heater->pool, but I'm planning on changing them to drain->bottom of bog.
If necessary, I could get an entirely new external pump and intake, but I'd rather use the drain we already have if possible.

I'm very new to all of this so critique/suggestions are appreciated, nothing is set in stone. I still haven't figured out exactly what I'll need to buy as far as piping/pond liner/and pump (and more).