Converting a Swimming Pool into a pond.

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hi, I was looking into making a pond for Koi. I have never had a pond before, and was wondering if converting a pool would be a good idea?

The way my yard is, doesn't allow me to put a pond in my front yard because of the set drain lines, and my back yard is so low, it floods constantly, but I have an above ground pool out back that I was thinking of converting into a pond. The pool is a 16x4, I believe 8600ish gallons.

My main concerns are water changes, as I am on county water (has a relatively high chlorine level), a pump strong enough to filter something this size, and if the pool liner(white and blue checkered pattern) is ok or if I would need to buy a pond liner.

Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated, as like I said before I'm new to all of this. I will definitely be doing more research before I commit to anything as well, not to mention, it's November so it's not really the ideal time to start a koi pond.

morewater

President, Raccoon Haters International
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
5b
Country
Canada
Do you freeze in winter?

No location is mentioned other than "US".

Big difference between Florida & Alaska.

Reaction score
Country
United States
Do you freeze in winter?

No location is mentioned other than "US".

Big difference between Florida & Alaska.
Winters here (NC) are cold but not always frozen. We do get snow, but weather is so bipolar, it's hard to say lol.

Last edited:

morewater

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
5b
Country
Canada
An above-ground pool for the purpose of a fish pond, to me as a contractor, is inadvisable and a job I would turn down and cation against. I wouldn't even quote on it.