Could splashback cause significant waterlevel drop?

Reaction score
Country
New Zealand
Hi guys

I'm a newbie to pond building. Recently I made a waterfall waterfeature that streams into a small pond. Approx 450litres.

Problem is, the waterlevel drops roughly 10-15cm in waterlevel iver 24hours. Roughly lost about 30 or 40 litres in 24 hours.

I notice there is significant backsplash ricocheting from
20220506_091008.jpg
the waterfall to the outside rocks. There is some lining underneath but not fully covered.

Could this cause to the drop? Or would this nit cause such an extreme drop in water level?
20220506_090958.jpg

Have checked for plumbing leaks and there is none. Also no cracks in the pond. Have switched off pumps and water level stays the same. The waterfeature itself has no wet marks outside of the structure. Just around the rocks formed around the pond.

Any input would be appreciated. Or ideas as how to fix this? Was thinking of installing a transparent small fence around the edge so water drops back into the pond?

Reaction score
Country
New Zealand
Hi there

I'm a newbie and have recently constructed a waterfall waterfeature. It flows into a smaller pond, roughly 450 Litres/ 118 Gallons.

Problem is, I started it yesterday and ran it 24 hours and noticed by this morning, the waterlevel drop significantly. Approximate 15cm/ 5.9 inches of water level was gone.

I've inspected plumbing and that is all fine. The waterfall is held with motar and pond foam and there are no obvious wet areas on the feature itself after inspection. Its layered with pond liner entirely. The liner is dry. The pond has no cracks as I've turned off pumps and no waterlevel has dropped.

There is, however significant backsplash from the waterfall rock in the centre. And this hits the rocks on the edges of the pond which are soaking wet. There is pond liner around some areas but not all.

Could this cause such a significant drop in water level?