Cracks in aggregate OVER edpm liner.

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hello to all.

I'm new to group and find this forum a wealth of info.... friendly, helpful posts. Thanks for all of your contributions.

My pond is 9 years old. It is an edpm liner UNDER an concrete aggregate substance. 3000 gallons

I have cracks in the aggregate and wondering how to fix ... permanently. I spoke with an Aquascape individual (my pond was not built the "Aquascape" way.) The builder/artist was a 3rd gen pond builder and this is the way he built the pond, which I really liked. Thought the aggregate as 2nd layer, would forestall any cracks in the underliner.

CRACKS have developed in the aggregate, in the waterfall area and partial perimeter of pond. Also, the rocks were MORTARED in, and 6 or so have come out and need to be re-mortared in. (These are 100 ish pounds ... large boulders ... river rock.

Spoke with AquaScape owner and he does not fix ... said all he was doing was a BANDAGE job, trying to fix the leaks in my type of pond. SAID THE WAY MY pond was constructed, he was going back every 6 months and patching same leaks in ponds that built like mine.

Indicated when aggregate had leaks, it WOULD CRACK/RUB AGAINST THE EDPM LINER AND THEN THAT LINER WOULD DEVELOP HOLES.

Has anyone had this issue and how do you resolve?
1. Get rubber/silicone type substance and patch liner; and then...
2. RE mortar with something waterproof mortar like Quickrete?? I would need something that sets up in a few minutes; and cannot empty the pond to repair.

Thanks in advance for any help.

Belinda

j.w

I Love my Goldies
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
USDA 8a
Country
United States
1566930819958.gif
@Belindab77
Wow you do have an issue but I'm sorry I have no experience w/this situation. Hopefully someone else can help.

Reaction score
Showcase(s):