dad has finally said yes :)

Reaction score
hi all,
as the title says my dad has finally given me permission to build a pond in the back garden as long as i promise to maintain it blah blah blah, (sure we all been there before)
i have been keeping fish for around five years now
biggest tank i had is 50 gallons.
so now i have a lovely area of land begging for a whole to be placed in it :)
so i was wondering how to start really?
best design/ size for beginners
stuff required to run a pond
things like that really
i have access to a digger so no bad backs for me :)
thanks in advance

sissy

sissy
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States
First you need to decide how big you think you can maintain and afford .Pumps can be expensive to buy and run and the bigger the pump the more money it costs to run and to buy .What kind of fish you are planing on having and what kind of filter you want to build .Liners are also not cheap .Keep in mind leaf drop or stuff that may blow into the pond will need to be kept out .Shade or part sun better as it keeps down algae .Deeper better it helps the fish .Then all below ground or half and half .Water run off also has to be considered ,you don't want stuff washing into the pond .Plus you may need to build in an over flow for heavy rains

Reaction score
Before we can give you advice on size, shape, equipment etc, it would be nice to know if you have a budget in mind? The cost can add up fast unless you take the time to find used items on Craigslist or something. Also, how big of an area do you have to work with? What are your initial thoughts? Maybe we can help you fine tune those.

sissy

sissy
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States
very true my most expensive part was the liner .I wanted to stay under 300 dollars and this way I could afford to change things later and believe me you are always changing things

Reaction score
As others have said:

budget?

space available?