Deciding how to build my pond!

Reaction score
Country
United States
I do landscaping in Utah for a living, and own all the fun equipment to make a fun pond to my backyard that we’re redoing. Long story short, my darling wife has allowed me to do about a 12’x12’ pond between our garden area, and a part way under a wooden deck I’ll be building her. The original plan was to have just a simple water feature, but realizing the possibilities, it quickly escalated into wanting a waterfall, plants, fish, and any other life I can safely put in there.
My biggest priority is doing a pond correctly. I really wanted to do a koi pond, but decided that might be a bit over my head for my first pond. I’ve devolved from that to looking at goldfish and mosquito fish. Just looking for some guidance and advice. Would that be a good place to start for someone just getting into ponds? Should I start with plants only for a bit? I have plenty of time and I’m in no rush at the moment. Thanks in advance! I’ll attach some photos of the hole I’ve dug thus far, and I’m completely open to any advice/criticism.

-I live in Bountiful Utah
-looking to put plants and hardy fish in the pond.
-I have a 45 mil 20’x20’ pond tarp
- I have a filter and submersible pump (I don’t have the models on me, but they were mid-priced off Amazon rated for 4,000 gal.
-the post that’s in the middle of the pond hole will be one of the corners of the aforementioned deck, and I’m thinking of waterproofing the post but I’m open to ideas if anyone has done anything like this before.

Attachments

• 33F35B33-58DF-4261-9DF6-733443E20699.jpeg
    33F35B33-58DF-4261-9DF6-733443E20699.jpeg
    397.6 KB · Views: 25
  • AA12761C-43EC-4BDC-9275-9FF198FF9403.jpeg
    AA12761C-43EC-4BDC-9275-9FF198FF9403.jpeg
    416.3 KB · Views: 26

addy1

water gardener / gold fish and shubunkins
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
Welcome to the forum!