Design Questions

Reaction score
Okay so I am a new member but have been lurking for a while. I am going to be building my first pond and want to run my design by the, cough cough, experts here LoL. Please remember while i may have stayed at a Holiday Inn last night I am still not an artist. I am open to suggestions and recommendations. First this pond is going to be for my daughters yellow belly slider turtles and also a couple of fish. They are currently in a 155 gallon bow front fish tank and I want my tank back. They are about 6"-8" long and there is also 2 Oscars in with them, that will be going in the pond, that are about 6"-10" long and of coarse my pleco that is a solid 12" long. There is going to be a retaining wall, about 18"-24" tall, around the entire pond, to keep dad out of hot water with the daughter, so the turtles don't escape.

Can anyone see something i am missing?

Thanxs

Attachments

• Pond Design 1.jpg
    Pond Design 1.jpg
    46.1 KB · Views: 281
Reaction score
The thoughts i had for all the extra ledges where for plants, hiding spots, anchor points for driftwood and some rocks, is this to much? With a skimmer i am concerned that the turtles will get sucked in to it. I would rather spend an hour a day out there with the pool net then to have even the smallest chance one my daughters turtles get killed.

Reaction score
If you want the ledges, go for it. A few reasons I would skip some or make them more uniform: steps are a great place for a predator to stand and hunt, steps reduce the gallons of water in the pond, steps make laying the liner smoothly much more difficult.

Mmathis

TurtleMommy
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
Maybe @Mmathis will see this and respond as she has a turtle pond. Welcome to the forum Wally.