Disappearing waterfall feature

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hi All, newbie here and I’m looking for some advice. I purchased a home that has a disappearing waterfall/pond feature and over time it loses water and I have to fill it back up. Is this normal?

Reaction score
Country
United States
image.jpg

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    321.7 KB · Views: 40

Jhn

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7b
Country
United States
Answer is it depends …lhow much you are losing?

Some water loss is normal due to evaporation. If that pond the stream dumps into Is losing half its water or more in 24 hrs water it's getting out another way either an edge is pushed down in the stream or pond edge or it has a hole.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
Pondless is subject to evaporation, just like a pond. Not as much, obviously. How much are you losing/how often are you refilling?

Looks like your reservoir Is exposed (like a pond!)? That will contribute to evaporation.

Reaction score
Country
United States
Pondless is subject to evaporation, just like a pond. Not as much, obviously. How much are you losing/how often are you refilling?

Looks like your reservoir Is exposed (like a pond!)? That will contribute to evaporation.
I think it loses all its water in about eight hours. I didn’t think that was normal but I just wanted to double check. I’ll post a picture in an hour to show how much water has now so you can get a sense of how much to lose this and how quickly

Jhn

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7b
Country
United States
If it is losing all its water in 8 hours it is getting out somewhere. Shut off the pump and see if the ponds water level still drops, if it doesn’t the leak is up in the waterfall…Most likely its leaking out in the waterfall/stream, over a low edge

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5b
Country
United States
That’s what I figured, how hard is it to try to troubleshoot?