Discouraged Pond Owner

Reaction score
Country
United States
I'm new to being a koi owner. Started in June 2018 with a small pond and I loved every bit of it. I grew attached to my fish babies and they brought me so much joy. As the winter progressed it began to become stressful to keep an eye on the water freezing because we had a few issue with the aerator line freezing and one time the water pump tipped over from the ice buildup and kill one koi. So I moved my fish to my basement and this is when it got worse. Thinking i was saving myself stress and keeping my koi safe and warm, i actually lost 5 koi in the last 3 weeks. This is disheartening, i didn't have to do so much to my water and test it as frequently now as when they were outdoors. We didn't have to treat the water much, hardly any water changes needed, water was clear. I wish i would have done more research before bringing them in. They have the same equipment from outdoors as they do now minus the additional waterfall. I'm doing everything i can to save my fish. But the reason for my post is to get motivation, hear other stories of encouragement. I love the feeling my koi give me but I am so sad about the losses that I had. So much so I'm reconsidering adding a larger pond outdoors for more koi. I'm at a point that I just want to keep the fish that survive and not get more so I don't have to be so upset every time I lose a fish.

j.w

I Love my Goldies
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
USDA 8a
Country
United States