Dividing Hyacinth

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
Zone 5B
After putting in some hyacinth, I'm getting runners with new plants and roots growing at the end of them. Is it possible to just clip the runner to separate the babies from the parent plant, or will that cause damage to both? I'd like to divide them so they're more spread out. They're a bit expensive to buy here at about $6.00 per plant.

Thanks folks :)

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
Zone 5B
Thanks Andy,

I appreciate the feed-back. This is my first year with hyacinth, so I wasn't sure what to expect with them. I know they spread, but I wasn't sure whether to spit them up or not.. I was just thinking that separating them might encourage the babies to grow and spread a little faster themselves. So ..... leave them alone it is! :)

Paul

koiguy1969

GIGGETY-GIGGETY!!
Reaction score
its been my experience that when they get packed together and grow up instead of out is when they look best, 'in my opoinion'. ive never seen much difference in growth no matter the time of dividing. they do seem to like moving water. shallower moving water. probably due to a constant flow of nutrients thru their roots. i get 2' of height in my hyacinths in the top of my filter, with offshoots growing outside the filter, basically rootless. fresh nutrient rich water feeding them in a constant flow. before returning to the pond and being diluted.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
Zone 5B
Hi koiguy,

This are only 3 plants that I put in, but they are spreading, and the off-spring are growing their own roots. That's why I was asking about diving them. But as Andy said above, they may concentrate on flowering, rather than growing. I want them to flower, but I'd rather let them grow and spread a little more before they flower. It's not a large pond to begin with, so the water temps get high fairly quickly. I want flowers, yes, but I'd rather have the shade for the fish.

koiguy1969

GIGGETY-GIGGETY!!
Reaction score