DIY groundwater pond

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello, I’m brand new to pond creation. We’ve just moved to a 8acre former farm in East Sussex and have several ponds already as well as two brook/streams. We have an area alongside one of the brooks which is a depression and is waterlogged all year round with groundwater and some surface run off from the steep field around it (not fed by stream at all). I’ve started digging down to explore a few test holes and there is a foot of top soil and then grey clay. Test holes are currently holding water but expecting them to dip or perhaps dry totally in summer. In which case we may use the summer to dig the full pond and puddle the clay and seal the pond. Likely the long pond will either be around 8 metre long x 2-4 metre wide or a series of smaller ponds adjoined. Has anyone dug a groundwater pond? Would love to exchange ideas and hear how they have fared. Particularly interested to know if puddled clay line ponds can fill with groundwater if the clay acts as a seal.

Attachments

• B2F347FF-5F49-4961-B452-F36D77D80CB7.jpeg
    B2F347FF-5F49-4961-B452-F36D77D80CB7.jpeg
    370.6 KB · Views: 99

Mmathis

TurtleMommy
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
Hello and welcome! Even if you decide not to turn it into an official pond, that looks like a lovely place for a rain garden!

addy1

water gardener / gold fish and shubunkins
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
Welcome I have never dug a pond and used clay to seal it. Can't help much.

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
Not all clay areas are created equal in retaining water if your test pits hold tge water level constant for a week your off to a good start. Run off from surrounding areas is not ideal as cattle dung or fertilizers can spike your waterside for algae blooms that will never go away.