DIY 'Pond-arium' (small pond) bio-filter

Reaction score
Hey all,

Being a total noob I just realized I need bio-filtration (thanks Koikeepr) and being a total noob I thought I'd stage my project in a thread so you guys can alert me if I'm missing anything. I DO believe I'll have a few questions. Yep...here they come now. LOL I've aquired an 8 gallon canister from on old film processor. It's very hardy, not like some of the plastic products you get from the store. Let the questions begin:

Cleaning used containers.
This particular container held film developer. It's a non-toxic chemical, the recommended disposal is down the drain. How should I clean and prepare it for use as a filter? Do you guys ever bleach pond gear?

Container Media Ratio.
These canister filters have a space at the bottom for the intoduction and dispersal of water. Above this, the media. Is there any reason for reserving a larager portion of space for this water area? It stands to reason that the more media space you have the more effective the filter will be. I'm thinking about maximizing my media area and minimizing the base column water area. Any thoughts?

Media type.
Nylon dish scrubbers, scotch brite pads, what's the favorite?

Using glues in the construction of filters.
I'm thinking of using a glue to create the media platform. The reason for this is the small size of the filter. If I put it on legs, the legs will be space hogs in the water area and might inhibit circulation. Glues yes? No? Types?

Piping size.