Do Goldfish Play?

Reaction score
As most of you know, i am new at fish raising. So, i don't really know what to look for if they are sick, what is normal or if they are just playing around. Sometimes it even looks like they are kissing. It seems like they are getting braver about coming out and going up to the top of the water...just for a split second. A couple of times I've seen one or two race around and slightly skip the top of the water, then go back to swimming normal. Some just hang around the bottom, moving a little every now and then. Sometimes they chase each other. So, you see, there are a number of things fish do that i have no idea is normal or not. Is ther a site that could help inform me of things to be concerned about?
I can't get close enough to examine them, besides I wouldn't know what I should look for. they don't look bad to me. In fact all the babies are starting to get bigger and show their colors now.
I have two black ones that used to be hard to see, but now i can tell wherever they are in the pond. They always are together and don't mingle much with the other Golds.

Thanks,
susan

sissy

sissy
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States
of course they do .Mine will swim against the water outlet and I also buy the over sized christmas ornaments I seal the ends and they push them around .

Mmathis

TurtleMommy
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
I've heard that they do seem to play, but only THEY know what's really going on in their little fishy brains :).