Do I need a skimmer?

TBH

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
Canada
My ponds gonna be 3 meters by two and 3 feet deep with no fish but a water feature and lights and some rocks

we also have huge trees around us and lots of leaves do fall only in fall season

would i need a skimmer for it I have this pump and I was wondering if it can be attached to any of these skimmers and how it can be attached Cause im a newb :rolleyes: (ive done some research so I get the idea of a skimmer I just wanna see if they are needed)'
And witch one will be the best?

Pump: http://thepondboss.net/product/pp575-575-gph-pond-pump/

Skimmers: https://www.amazon.ca/TetraPond-265...8&qid=1527723999&sr=8-4&keywords=pond+skimmer

https://www.amazon.com/OASE-SwimSki...hipping_option-bin:3242350011,p_36:2661614011

I kinda want to make it easier for myself cleaning the pond because my pump does have a filter but its at the bottom not the top
and with any of these skimmers will i still need a net over in the fall season? Thanks!

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Is a skimmer needed? No. Is a skimmer great to have on a pond? Yes.

You don't attach your pump to your skimmer - your pump sits down inside of your skimmer, which is another good reason to have one - a place for your pump to live. And skimming the big debris before it gets to the pump is ideal. Your pump will last longer and you will spend less time pulling it out of the pond to clean it because it's clogged with debris.

A skimmer not only pulls the big debris off the surface, it also pulls the microscopic debris - things like pollen and dust - that make your pond surface look dull. I think a pond with a skimmer always looks more sparkly on the surface.

As for a net - that's really up to you. It sure makes keeping the leaves out of the pond easier if you have a lot of trees. But some people just prefer to scoop leaves as they fall. If you have the time and love to putter around the pond, that's fine too.

TBH

Reaction score