Do I need a skimmer?

Reaction score
Country
United States
Happy Sunday to you all! I am about done digging a 4,200 gallon pond. Actually it is a waterfall/pond with a stream connecting another pond; all new construction. I have never done this before but am doing a lot of research and excited to get some great advice from you guys!
My question is, do I need a skimmer? I will be installing a waterfall spillway/filter appropriate for my size pond but do I also need a skimmer in the lower pond? As this piece would add an easy $175 to my cost, I don’t want to purchase it if I don’t absolutely need it. My daughter says fish are a must have so take that into consideration as well please and thanks in advance for any advice!

Mmathis

TurtleMommy
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
Personally, with that size pond, I would go with a skimmer if you can work it into your budget. They aren’t a necessity, but can sure make pond-care a lot less complicated. I didn’t install one, and am having to depend on a small, floating skimmer, plus netting out fallen leaves.

addy1

water gardener / gold fish and shubunkins
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
Skimmers are nice. I have mine on the downwind end of the pond. The winds helps push the leaves into the skimmer. Or you can net out things that fall in.

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
The end result is to get any foreign material out of the pond as quick as possible to avoid nitrates from spiking and phosphates from causing algae blooms. Well a skimmer removes this material almost as fast as it falls into the pond! enough said? if you don't empty the skimmer as needed then yes it is not a benefit to the pond.

Reaction score
Showcase(s):