Do I need to keep all of my filters on 24/7? Please see the pictures!


Joined
Jan 1, 2022
Messages
12
Reaction score
1
Country
United Kingdom
Happy New Year from London!

I am a new house with a fish pound with 15 Koi fish. Do I need to keep all of these equipments on 24/7?
The electricity is very expensive for all of these:
- nexus2010
- Evolution AQUA
-B filter
- Surface Skimmer
- Blow Pond Air

I understand that Nexus2010 needs to be on to keep good bacteria. But can I keep it on few hours per week?
I attach the pictures of the filters.

cheers
Nick
 

Attachments

  • 027E4DFC-CFD5-4A99-86BF-C6EF98BFEE3F.jpeg
    027E4DFC-CFD5-4A99-86BF-C6EF98BFEE3F.jpeg
    248.1 KB · Views: 43
  • 9D006779-CEE4-414A-869A-EB998D37D799.jpeg
    9D006779-CEE4-414A-869A-EB998D37D799.jpeg
    238.1 KB · Views: 40
  • FEB582AB-93A9-4717-A928-B253C803CFE3.jpeg
    FEB582AB-93A9-4717-A928-B253C803CFE3.jpeg
    172.5 KB · Views: 45
  • 64000A2C-B074-4383-9EBF-6CB56A90B9C3.jpeg
    64000A2C-B074-4383-9EBF-6CB56A90B9C3.jpeg
    150.9 KB · Views: 42
  • 5A2E91EF-E326-461A-A23C-5E2A7A57445A.jpeg
    5A2E91EF-E326-461A-A23C-5E2A7A57445A.jpeg
    234.4 KB · Views: 49
  • C99908C1-E770-4A17-BAA0-EA55070EA5C6.jpeg
    C99908C1-E770-4A17-BAA0-EA55070EA5C6.jpeg
    191.2 KB · Views: 47
  • FC680FD7-600C-4054-94CB-B0D5671A5954.jpeg
    FC680FD7-600C-4054-94CB-B0D5671A5954.jpeg
    179.9 KB · Views: 38
  • 93F2748C-C20C-4DFE-BE74-547A9D704C35.jpeg
    93F2748C-C20C-4DFE-BE74-547A9D704C35.jpeg
    97.4 KB · Views: 37
  • F5EDFD34-B156-4BC2-9501-870936C1EB74.jpeg
    F5EDFD34-B156-4BC2-9501-870936C1EB74.jpeg
    268.7 KB · Views: 35
  • 014EEFDD-A9E0-4616-84E5-9B08CF9CE3C5.jpeg
    014EEFDD-A9E0-4616-84E5-9B08CF9CE3C5.jpeg
    323.8 KB · Views: 42
Ad

Advertisements

j.w

I Love my Goldies
Joined
Feb 1, 2010
Messages
31,271
Reaction score
19,001
Location
Arlington, Washington
Showcase(s):
1
Hardiness Zone
USDA 8a
Country
United States
1641058705250.gif
@Nick2021
I don't know what all those are but whichever one is filtering the water should be kept on as long as it can't freeze up ever hour of the day. My pump is a submersible to my filters so can't freeze under water and as long as the water is running it won't freeze to my top edge pond filter. The filter on the bottom of my pond no worries at all. The skimmer you could turn off, I don't even have one of those as not needed.
 

Mmathis

TurtleMommy
Joined
Apr 28, 2011
Messages
13,446
Reaction score
7,626
Location
NW Louisiana -- zone 8b
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
Hello and welcome. There are some aspects that should run 24/7 as @j.w said. What size is your pond?

It looks like you are set up as what we call a DKP, or dedicated koi pond, which is an equipment-dependent set up. Most on here, are garden-ponders, where we let Mother Nature care for our water by using plants. We are going to suggest that you ditch all the equipment…..AND CONSTRUCT A BOG, or eco/wetlands type filtration system. But, to each his own. Neither is right or wrong, just “different” so if power usage is an issue, the bog is the way to go. Many on here will be more than happy to supply you with information.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 4, 2019
Messages
792
Reaction score
566
Location
Winchester, VA
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
Everything with my pond runs 24/7 365 days a year. Yes, it does increase the electric bill, but to me it's worth it.
 
Joined
Jun 22, 2011
Messages
4,685
Reaction score
3,760
Hardiness Zone
5b
Country
United States
TurtleMommaMax took the words right outta ma mouth; if you construct a bog filter, you'll only need ONE pump and cut your energy costs down magnificently! Search here on the forums for 'bog'; you'll be kept busy reading and if you like what you see, holler on back at us with any followups or sage advice or just plain idiot savant wisdoms! And if you're really in a pinch, we'll throw the Prez of the BFC atcha; hey @poconojoe ? He's retired now so LOTS of time to pound the pavement with our glorious cause! BFC members UNITE!
 
Joined
Oct 4, 2019
Messages
792
Reaction score
566
Location
Winchester, VA
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
I'm in the minority here and my pond has a bead type filter, a shower filter, and a skimmer. Those all operate from a single pump.

The only other pump we use is an air pump, like the one on the shelf in one of the pictures. I would think that would be the same for those of you with bogs. One pump for water, one for air.

The OP does seem to have a lot of equipment, including a drum filter, which is electrically powered. The only other things using power should be pumps, if there are more than one.

Is there a main pump somewhere?

The Nexus 210 filter seems to be rated for ponds up to 4000 gallons, not that that necessarily means anything about the size of the pond. There also is a pressure type filter, the blue plastic tank with the Aqua label. Don't know what the green box is. There does seem to be a small pump near that.

But to answer the question, whatever system you have, it needs to run all the time that the pond is not frozen in winter. Even then, the air pump should be running.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Jan 1, 2022
Messages
12
Reaction score
1
Country
United Kingdom
Hello and welcome. There are some aspects that should run 24/7 as @j.w said. What size is your pond?

It looks like you are set up as what we call a DKP, or dedicated koi pond, which is an equipment-dependent set up. Most on here, are garden-ponders, where we let Mother Nature care for our water by using plants. We are going to suggest that you ditch all the equipment…..AND CONSTRUCT A BOG, or eco/wetlands type filtration system. But, to each his own. Neither is right or wrong, just “different” so if power usage is an issue, the bog is the way to go. Many on here will be more than happy to supply you with information.
Great.
The pond size is 5*3 sqmeter!
The set up is for Koi.
Is there any link to see the cost of those eco filters?

Thanks
 
Joined
Jan 1, 2022
Messages
12
Reaction score
1
Country
United Kingdom
TurtleMommaMax took the words right outta ma mouth; if you construct a bog filter, you'll only need ONE pump and cut your energy costs down magnificently! Search here on the forums for 'bog'; you'll be kept busy reading and if you like what you see, holler on back at us with any followups or sage advice or just plain idiot savant wisdoms! And if you're really in a pinch, we'll throw the Prez of the BFC atcha; hey @poconojoe ? He's retired now so LOTS of time to pound the pavement with our glorious cause! BFC members UNITE!
Thanks. I will go for bog filter.
I am new! Is the blow water pressure enough for my 15 coy fish now till I find the solution? I turned all if the filter off.
 
Joined
Jan 1, 2022
Messages
12
Reaction score
1
Country
United Kingdom
I'm in the minority here and my pond has a bead type filter, a shower filter, and a skimmer. Those all operate from a single pump.

The only other pump we use is an air pump, like the one on the shelf in one of the pictures. I would think that would be the same for those of you with bogs. One pump for water, one for air.

The OP does seem to have a lot of equipment, including a drum filter, which is electrically powered. The only other things using power should be pumps, if there are more than one.

Is there a main pump somewhere?

The Nexus 210 filter seems to be rated for ponds up to 4000 gallons, not that that necessarily means anything about the size of the pond. There also is a pressure type filter, the blue plastic tank with the Aqua label. Don't know what the green box is. There does seem to be a small pump near that.

But to answer the question, whatever system you have, it needs to run all the time that the pond is not frozen in winter. Even then, the air pump should be running.
50D0F9B3-9835-4D70-AD73-8219BBDC62A0.jpeg

This is picture of filter which I think it is not needed for 15 coy fish.
 

addy1

water gardener / gold fish and shubunkins
Moderator
Donor
Joined
Jun 23, 2010
Messages
43,212
Reaction score
27,726
Location
Frederick, Maryland
Showcase(s):
1
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
Is there any link to see the cost of those eco filters?
Welcome to the forum.

The cost , if done like I did mine, is the cost of liner and or a container, the cost of pea gravel, the cost of some pvc. It can be pretty cheap. Mine is just pea gravel, liner, pvc all run off one pump.

Others have done aqua blocks snorkels etc. Which drives the cost up.
I turned all if the filter off.
Be careful they may need that filter, koi are trashy fish ie they poo a lot, the water is tougher to keep good for them vs goldfish.
Do some water testing.

I do not use any filter except my bog so I can not help you with filters like what you show above.
 
Ad

Advertisements

addy1

water gardener / gold fish and shubunkins
Moderator
Donor
Joined
Jun 23, 2010
Messages
43,212
Reaction score
27,726
Location
Frederick, Maryland
Showcase(s):
1
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
Do you have Koi fish? If Bead filter is enough, I should turn only this one on as it is linked to one pump.
No I do not, I have around 9000 gallons or so and only shubunkins/goldfish. I have never used a store bought filter, so do not know much about them.

other members on here have Koi and filter with a bog.
 
Joined
Oct 4, 2019
Messages
792
Reaction score
566
Location
Winchester, VA
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
The picture is of a rotary drum filter. Its function is to remove gunk and any debris from the water.

Are you testing your water parameters with liquid tests? If so, what are the levels for ammonia, nitrite, nitrate and KH?

Eliminating any of your filtration can cause an increase in ammonia and nitrite, either of which can be deadly to the fish. So please be careful with that. If you turn anything off, please test the water frequently to make sure the parameters are staying safe.

Depending on their size and the size of your pond, 15 koi can be an overwhelming number for a pond, requiring a great deal of filtration to keep the water and the fish healthy.

To me the whole set up seems piecemeal and the owner may have kept increasing the filtration in bits and pieces to keep up with the waste production increase as the fish grew. Just a guess, but I don't see how anyone would have designed it originally as it is now.

If your bead filter is large enough, it can filter the entire pond. But since there is so much additional filtration, I have to think that the single bead filter is not adequate.

Can you contact the previous owners and ask them for more information?
 

mrsclem

mrsclem
Joined
Jul 21, 2008
Messages
5,168
Reaction score
4,631
Location
st. mary's county, md.
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States
Nick2021- I have koi and while yours are small now, they can grow to over 3 feet! With 15 koi, you need to keep any filtration running until you can get a bog set up. The skimmer can be turned off, just make sure you are nto getting a lot of leaves falling in the pond. How deep is the pond?
Are you sure all the fish are koi?
Guessing you just bought the house, any chance the previous owner can help with your questions about the equipment?
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Jun 22, 2011
Messages
4,685
Reaction score
3,760
Hardiness Zone
5b
Country
United States
I see mrsclem started the actual conversation that should be taking place; the GENERAL rule of thumb is 1000 gallons for ONE koi and 250-500 gallons for EACH ADDITIONAL fish. At 15'x9', figuring 3' deep minimum, that gives you 3000 gallons. You'll HAVE to figure out if my 3' depth is actually true. So, IF 3000 gallons, safe fish load would be in the area of 9 adult koi. You can see how you're going to need a LOT of filtration if all the numbers are correct. Any less depth and you're further across that line. If 4' depth, that gives you an additional 1000 gallons and possibly 4 more fish. So, you're right at that line. Hence, filtration is important in your case. I'd NOT shut anything down until you either build a bog (correctly sized at 30% pond volume) or accept you're going to need everything you currently have and YES, you'll need to run it 24/7. The good bacteria will die if you don't and this is what's keeping your water life-sustaining.

Again, read about bogs, make sure you're comfortable and understand exactly how they work. As addy noted, it can be relatively inexpensive or you can go the aquablox route and it'll now get pricey. I did a hybrid, sorta, of the two. The idea here is you will only need ONE pump an not have to clean anything. All you'll do is periodically thin out the plants, which will be at the top of your bog, pulling out nitrates while the pea gravel serves as your biofilter and converts the ammonia into nitrite and then into nitrate.
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2017
Messages
10,022
Reaction score
7,926
Location
Ct
Showcase(s):
1
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
Im guessing that you do not have any problems with your pond as it is . the creator of the system seems to have gone all out . from my research in the past the nexus seemed to be a very good piece of equipment . very efficient at removing particle matter from the water column. The bead filter is a decent bacterial filter particularly when it is not being allowed to clog and yours has a great prefilter the skimmer and nexus. I think your set up may even beat a bog over all. As the bog does nothing to remove partials from the water column . But what it does do is trap the partials and allows bugs microbes and bacteria a chance to do there thing. While my water is always crystal clear you can see a penny on the bottom of the pond at 6 feet down and you could tell if it's head or tails. My water will never be polished Like the nexus can do.
But to your question weather to shut down or not i would have to say that i would not shut your system down. but what i would do is place the nexus and the bead filter into some plastic huts. Now i'm assuming yes you get below 32 degree weather but that it is not sub zero for weeks on end . the spray heads you have i imagine can fail very easily if not shut down and drained and stored property . and the bead filter can certainly crack if not drained and once you do that you loose your bio load. placing them both into plastic huts does more then you may think. particularly if you have lots of sun. we have a member who runs her ponds up in Canada and she runs them all year and does plastic huts and has done so for years
 
Joined
Aug 19, 2020
Messages
172
Reaction score
152
Country
United Kingdom
hi @Nick2021, im a bit late to the party here but would agree you have a nice set up there, i use a nexus and they are great bits of kit, i dont have a drop in draco though and again they are very good pieces of equipment as is the bead and the sieve, as has been said previously you do need most of the equipment left on all the time and yes it is getting pricey now especially with the prospect of energy price rises going up in the region of 100% this year :eek: if you wanted to go down the bog root as have lots of members on here with fantastic results the outlay for pipes and gravel and liner would easily be recovered with the sale of all your equipment even used they would all sell very well and quickly. someone obviously took a lot of time and money to put together a nice pond, and im sure you will have some quality fish in there aswell. hope this helps, cheers mark.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Jan 1, 2022
Messages
12
Reaction score
1
Country
United Kingdom
hi @Nick2021, im a bit late to the party here but would agree you have a nice set up there, i use a nexus and they are great bits of kit, i dont have a drop in draco though and again they are very good pieces of equipment as is the bead and the sieve, as has been said previously you do need most of the equipment left on all the time and yes it is getting pricey now especially with the prospect of energy price rises going up in the region of 100% this year :eek: if you wanted to go down the bog root as have lots of members on here with fantastic results the outlay for pipes and gravel and liner would easily be recovered with the sale of all your equipment even used they would all sell very well and quickly. someone obviously took a lot of time and money to put together a nice pond, and im sure you will have some quality fish in there aswell. hope this helps, cheers mark.
Hi Mark,

Thanks. I have 16 Koi standard fish- not very expensive. Do you have Koi? They are different.

What if I go only with the Bead filter (Auqa on the picture)? Good bacteria is produced by Nexus?

Any idea how much I can sell all of these equipments?

Cheers
Nick
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top