Do koi and fancy goldfish interbreed?

Reaction score
LOL, hopefully this is not too dumb of a question, but I have 2 koi, a fancy comet, a couple fantails, a skubunkin and a black moor in a stock tank in my greenhouse and now 2 of the fantails are in a very family way and I am wondering what kind of babies to expect. I am hoping for some interesting looking babies.

Greg

Reaction score
They *shouldn't*. They're different genus and species (same family), so they shouldn't be able to interbreed. If they do manage to hybridize, the offspring shouldn't be fertile.

However, your comets, fantails, shubunkins, and moor should all be able to interbreed. Fancy (doubletail) goldfish and single tail goldfish are the same species. Meaning it's like Chihuahuas to Rottweilers - look different, but genetically the same species and able to interbreed.

Reaction score
Thanks for the response, I knew the goldfish would have no problems, but I am kind of new to koisince my last house had an outdoor pond and after trying one Koi and having it only last a couple weeks before it was eaten I have just kept feeder goldfish in my outdoor stuff since then and my stock tank in my greenhouse has been the first safe place I have had for koi. I am one of those stubborn people who refuse to cover my outdoor water features. ;)

Greg

Reaction score
From this site: http://www.aquatic-oasis.com/articles.htm (scroll down to "Koi? Where did they come from" then scroll a bit further to the "Butterfly Koi..." section)

Koi and goldfish being closely related will readily interbreed but the resulting progeny are unattractive, mostly resembling wild carp with very little color. In our experience so far, they are always sterile and offer no hope of continuing selective breeding.

Reaction score
Is this for real, Long Fin have only been around for the last 12 years? I didn't realize that this breed was so new.

Reaction score