Does it hurt if my koi have not spawned

Glitter

Glitter
Reaction score
Hello all,

My koi, (2 males 13 and 18 inches) have not had that much interest in spawning with my 2 females ( 13 and 17 inches ) this
last spring and now that the temp has dropped to 70 degrees are still showing little interest (which suits me fine). But my little girl nudges the bigger one as much as the males, and I know she is a she. I'm still new at this but I thought spawning was pretty aggressive. Both girls are full of eggs, so is it going to hurt if they go thru winter this way?

Any input is very much appreciated.

Reaction score
Spawning is normally a cool water getting warmer thing, not warmer getting cooler.

A female nudging another female isn't a spawning thing.

Spawning is aggressive. It happens in a rather short period each day over a few days. Many people don't seem to witness the event.

Why do you think the females are full of eggs?

If they do still have eggs it could end up being a problem most likely next spring. You can try cutting back food and not feeding thru the winter. That can cause the fish to absorb the eggs. Hit and miss. Normally this is done in the spring and it's hit and miss even then.

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
You don't say if your Koi have spawned in past years or not. Or if this is the first year you have had them. Did you buy these Koi at this size this year?

If you've had them for a few years, have they spawned in previous years?

It shouldn't hurt the females if they don't spawn as they should normally reabsorb the eggs.

If they have spawned in previous years but not this year, I would double check and closely monitor your water conditions. It could be that water conditions have changed this year for some reason which may have reduced their desire to spawn.