Dropsy?

Reaction score
Hi, this is my first time on the forum. I moved into a house and inherited a pond 2 months ago. Came out to feed the fish just now and one is floating upside down under the water. It is still alive but seems very bloated. Could this be dropsy & what should I do. Any advice appreciated as never had pond or fish before.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7a
Country
United Kingdom
Hi Joan-e first off we need to know your tanks water perameters Ammonia Nitrite, Nitrate, Ph to give us an idea if there is anything going wrong in your pond, next off can you firstly tell us what type of fish this is i;e koi, goldfish or other?
Looking at the fish can you see if any of the scales are pineconing ? Dropsy is a difficult thing to treat as it may be due to quite a few factors , for one there are differing types of dropsy .
Firstly there is internal bacterial infection next the viral and lastly a parasite that attacks a fishes kidneys our gues yours has an internal bacterial infection it being the most common .
It sounds as this poor fish is now to far gone for any sort of help but you could try putting the fish in an areated tank and adding salt to the water at 5-6kg per 1,000 litres of water which should help reduce osmeticpressure on the fish also raising the temperature of the water at a degree a day up to and above 25c .
Will it help I dont know personally weve never heard of a fish that is belly up and swollen like it is coming back from the edge.like this in all our 27 years of koi keeping :(

Dave

Reaction score
Dropsy is a symptom of another problem. An upside down fish is having problems with it's swim bladder but the question is why? Infection? Constipation? How often are you feeding the fish. Also please answer Dave's questions above. Thanks.

Reaction score
Hey guys,