Easyclear 6000 Pond Pump


Joined
Apr 16, 2011
Messages
7
Reaction score
0
Location
Bucks, England
Hi everyone, I've just built my first pond and i've bought and installed an Easyclear 6000 Pond Pump from Hozelock.

I don't want the waterfall or fountain going as it's too close to the house and would keep us awake. At the moment it's just rippling the water gently at the top (see photo below).

Is this good enough for aeration or do I need to have the water actively running in and out of the pond?

Thanks in advance for any help.
 

Attachments

Ad

Advertisements

addy1

water gardener / gold fish and shubunkins
Moderator
Joined
Jun 23, 2010
Messages
38,592
Reaction score
22,927
Location
Frederick, Maryland
Showcase(s):
1
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
Nice looking pond, I have read that as long as the water is moving and rippling the surface o2 is being exchanged. You could put in a air stone to help out also. What kind of filtration do you have going? To keep the water nice and fresh for you fish.
 

koiguy1969

GIGGETY-GIGGETY!!
Joined
Dec 15, 2008
Messages
10,587
Reaction score
6,379
Location
Michigan zone 5b
you need to break the surface tension of the water if you want to get any real aeration, (your basically just circulating the water).even if you extend the output pipe so the water shoots 6" or so up you'll get some aeration....the further the water falls to return to the pond the better it will aerate. but an air pump and stone will aerate and cost alot less to run than that water pump. if thats all your looking to do.
 
Joined
Apr 16, 2011
Messages
7
Reaction score
0
Location
Bucks, England
Thanks for the replies guys. The pump has a 9w UVC lamp and sponge filters built in to it. I'm going to look for an air stone I can attach to the waterfall outlet, would that work?
 

sissy

sissy
Joined
Jan 17, 2011
Messages
32,626
Reaction score
15,290
Location
Axton virginia
Showcase(s):
1
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States
I put my air line just inside the area of the pump connecting it so it does not get sucked into the pump ,but enough that it sucks the air into the pump .I agree with koiguy you need to extend that to break the surface of the water ,that is meant to be a fountain head and if you get the bell shaped fountain head it does not make a lot of noise but is very pretty to see .It comes out in a full circle around the center of the pipe ,just like a bell
 

koiguy1969

GIGGETY-GIGGETY!!
Joined
Dec 15, 2008
Messages
10,587
Reaction score
6,379
Location
Michigan zone 5b
someone in another post spoke of white noise...i agree, the sound of the water splashing back into the pond is quite relaxing. the foam filter on your pump is not for actual water qualty. its there merely to protect your pump from debris... once you have fish in the pond you'll find the foam will clog quickly and be more of a pain than a gain. pull the foam from its housing and build a biofilter (external..out of pond) for the sake of any fish's health you might put in the pond! check the DIY section and you'll find several designs...
 
Ad

Advertisements

addy1

water gardener / gold fish and shubunkins
Moderator
Joined
Jun 23, 2010
Messages
38,592
Reaction score
22,927
Location
Frederick, Maryland
Showcase(s):
1
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
There are 3 fish in the pond, so will need to get some filtration going.
 
Joined
Apr 16, 2011
Messages
7
Reaction score
0
Location
Bucks, England
Sorry Koiguy, I wasn't very clear, the biomedia is underneath the foam filters. I've now raised the pump slightly so the surface of the water is breaking.

Is there a kit to check O2 levels?
 

koiguy1969

GIGGETY-GIGGETY!!
Joined
Dec 15, 2008
Messages
10,587
Reaction score
6,379
Location
Michigan zone 5b
IF YOUR FISH ARE COMFORTABLE HANGING AROUND AT THE PONDS BOTTOM, ITS A REASONABLE ASSUMPTION THAT O2 LEVELS ARE ADEQUATE....
that said i wouldnt rely on that filter on its own...unless you dont plan on more fish.
 

sissy

sissy
Joined
Jan 17, 2011
Messages
32,626
Reaction score
15,290
Location
Axton virginia
Showcase(s):
1
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States
then he better hope he has all male fish or all female fish
 
Ad

Advertisements

Ad

Advertisements


Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top