Electrical Outlets

Reaction score
I have 2 electrical outlets on my house next to the pond. Right now I just have the fountain going. I want to install another fountain on the other end and lights on both fountains. Then of course add on a water fall and filter. And possibly some more underwater lights. For those of you with good size ponds with alot of pumps / lights on it where do you all plug all these in at? Do I need to hire an electrican to put some kind of 6 - 8 pulg in box next to my fountain? How many things do you all have to plug in?

The guy at the store told me I could use the pump I use for my fountain to double as the waterfall pump as well, but I'm just concerned about straning the pump too much or lowering the water pressure to the fountain. Just seems better to me to have a pump for each. Am I thinking right?

Bat

Reaction score
Hi Kev,

im a new memeber o this forum and have my 1st pond, however I am an electrician as well....all i can say is that once you have allocated how many outlets you need, if you not very competent with electricals then i would call someone in, and make sure that the external outlets are weatherproof and also RCD protected. I would recommend MK masterseal outlets. Also if your to have lighting i would recommend a MK masterseal outlets which also houses a programmable timeclock, also please make sure that the electricians are NICEIC registered if your a uk resident.

simon

mrsclem

mrsclem
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States
We have 4 outlets at our pond. Currently running 2 pumps, a UV filter, 2 underwater lights and a large security light. I use light timers I got at Lowes. They have 6 outlets inclosed in a watertight box. I have one next to the outlets and one next to the pond by the filters for easy access. I then run additional timers for the lights. The boxes can be set for 24 hour use, dusk to dawn or a set number of hours. They work great and will handle a heavy load.

Reaction score
Bat said: