'ello all! Joshaeus reporting in

Joshaeus

Water hawthorn, Aponogeton Distachyos
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
Country
United States
I am a young adult that lives in New England, zone 5, and while I have had fish tanks for about 2 years, I just got permission to set up a water garden this year. Said water garden will be an above ground giant flowerpot (not giant by pond standards, alas...both a good and a bad thing) on the east side of the house, containing water hawthorn, hornwort, an aquarium lily species (to provide flowers in the summer when the hawthorn is dormant), and perhaps some other plants and a few fish. The pot is going to be above ground...thus, the fish and lilies will likely only be in the pond for the summer months (the hornwort and hawthorn should be able to be in there at least from mid spring to mid fall, I believe...please correct me if I'm wrong, I'm new to this! :) If I used an electric water de-icer to keep the pot liquid the entire year, could I keep the hawthorn and hornwort out year round?). Anyhow, thankx for any replies!

Joshaeus

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
Country
United States
Maybe I mistyped that? I meant the water hawthorn, Aponogeton distachyos, would flower. My bad! :) Technically I believe hornwort is a flowering plant, but I have yet to hear whether it actually flowers.

peter hillman

Let me think for minute....
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
3-5
Country
United States
Not sure about Hornwort, but the Hawthorn should be hardy, I've collected it at an alpine pond before.

Smaug

God makes perfect. I just dug the hole
Reaction score
Country
United States
Hornwort can get a tiny little flower but it IS tiny. I don't think hornwort will over winter in a pot even if yiu have a heater unless of course yiu have that heater set quite high!

Joshaeus

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
Country
United States
Could've sworn you could fine Ceratophyllum up to Alaska...

addy1

water gardener / gold fish and shubunkins
Reaction score