Energy savings for ponds; HEATING/COOLING

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9a
Addy1 pointed me over here since winter is coming.
I'm an old energy consultant; although I'm semi retired I have contact with a lot of do it your self people. Ponds have been one of my hobbys for 36 years(I call it the never ending hobby)
I don't get get many Winters where I worry about ice depth, but along time ago (sounds like Star Wars), I lost a pond due to ice. Now I use methods that are simple and some not so simple(I have a Bosch Distributorship,LOL) It just depends on application.

I keep up on the latest applications, and thought I would see if there is any interest? opinions? Do it yourself people?

I have one heater I made with $5 worth of black tubing and a coiler. It is 30 years old and still does its job.

I did an outdoor experiment about 4 years ago using a 4000 gallon pond with a geothermal teabag heat exchanger attached to a water based geothermal heater/air conditioner. In the winter I had a bank of glass faced collectors to control the heat loss when I ran it in heating mode. For fun I raised a bunch of tropical fish all winter.
It was pretty strange to see the steam coming up in the cold mornings. It looked like a volcano. This is a much more efficient way to heat and cool a house, so all you people that have ponds have a way to cut your heating/cooling expenses way down.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7a
So can you describe the black tubing and coiler? And what temp you keep you water at?

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9a
Heres a pic of the coil. I just use it to keep the ice from getting thick. I haven't used it in 20 years since the warming trend has kept my ice to less than 2 inches.

Attachments

• KP140977.JPG
    KP140977.JPG
    298.5 KB · Views: 339
  • KP140977.JPG
    KP140977.JPG
    298.5 KB · Views: 359
  • KP140977.JPG
    KP140977.JPG
    298.5 KB · Views: 326
  • KP140977.JPG
    KP140977.JPG
    298.5 KB · Views: 296
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7a