Equipment final choice assistance please

Reaction score
I am a newbie everyone, but I've done some research before coming and asking questions. Thanks in advance for your ideas and advice.

Aquafalls Medium Waterfall/Filter on order for 8 ft X 26" end--will install at 36-48" head. (Skimmer, bottom drain and pump to go at 6 ft X 38" )

Pondliner 45mil EDPM liner with underlayment on order.

Plan for plants, fish (probably just goldfish) & a frog or two. Looking forward to waterfall sounds.

Decisions are

1) Pump: between Pondmaster Hy-Drive 4800 in skimmer vs. Sequence 750/4200 external pump.
2) Skimmer: Atlantic PS4900 vs Pondmaster 5000 vs. Easypro Small.
3) Bottom Drain: under or over liner
4) UV light: Sentry 40W vs Aquatwist UV 57 vs Tetra UV3.

Questions:

1) Can bottom drain physically be routed into any of the above skimmers via bulkhead fitting?
2) Will either pump pull enough to bring water in through the skimmer AND the bottom drain using any of the skimmers?
3) can UV light be installed inline between bottom drain and skimmer if bottom drain above liner or is it better in line in line to the falls?

thanks again. I hope I haven't tread old paths that I could have found answers to by sorting through the threads. If so forgive me.

Rick

Reaction score
Rick,
did you ever hear back on this? i'm suprised to see zero replies to this post. hmm?
i'm digging a pond about the size of your pond. 12'x12'x2.5' (22" to 38"). I'm looking for a cheap pump that will be efficient. i found a Cal 5500gph pump for $165 but it used 580W. i saw one on a diagram on of the other garden pond forum posts and they used a 180W 5000gph pump. i'd like to find that pump.
rosco

Reaction score
Wow, what a blast from the recent, but seems like forever, past!!

Lotta water under the bridge at this point. Went with EasyPro 4700s. 280 watts per and reliable.

those laguna are sure energy efficient. way less energy usage. ;)