experience needed for setting up a garden pond for the first time

Reaction score
Hey guys,

I would like to build a Garden Pond for my backyard which I have never done before and I hope that you can help me. I am not experienced in construction or mechanics but I have planted lots of trees and plants. I would like the length to be 10-12 ft by 6-7 ft wide and 4 ft deep. I would like the pond to have plants, Koi, Mosquito fish, High Fin Sharks, tad poles and maybe a turtles, and maybe other types of fish. I would like to have a waterfall as well.

I've watched videos on you tube on how to build a garden pond and some things I understand and some I'm unsure about.I've been told to dig the hole first and that I should not have shelves. Do I make the bottom of the pond completely flat? There is a slope does the entire pond have to be completely level? what about the sides? Do I build up the pond around the perimeter?

Do I make a shelf all around the pond just below the water level so I can place rocks and hide the liner? Can I get plants without shelves and use milk crates?

Here's some photo's of where the pond will be:
http://imageshack.us/f/855/imag0154h.jpg/
http://imageshack.us/f/824/imag0155v.jpg/
http://imageshack.us/f/839/pic1ue.png/
http://imageshack.us/f/560/pic3zh.png
/http://imageshack.us/f/849/pic2ol.png/

Looking forward to hearing from you.

addy1

water gardener / gold fish and shubunkins
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
Good questions..........

The bottom of the pond can be flat or sloped. Mine is sloped from a walk out area down to 5 feet. My last pond was 5 feet, flat, once I got into it I could not get out easily, this one I made a walk out area.