Feeder fish dying - what's normal rate of loss?

Reaction score
Country
United States
My two ponds (one 200 g, one 1200 g) have in prior summers had lots of tadpoles and frogs and algae. This is the first year I added fish and water plants, partly to make sure the mosquito and gnat larvae are getting eaten and to stabilize things.

I put in about 2 dozen feeder fish (comets) and a few floating hyacinths and water lilies over the course of the last 3 weeks (a handful of the fist at first, the rest a week later when all the water tests were still perfect). Everyday, they look healthy to me, but I come back in the morning and find about 1 dead on average. Right now, 7 out of the original 23 are still alive. Again, the living ones all look healthy.

The pond is lined - I have a pond master kit and everything is coming out in ideal levels (it doesn't test nitrates, but nitrites, ph, phosphates and ammonia. The ph is just below 8 and everything else is coming out at zero levels, and I've tested every few days (just did again).

I used aqua safe on the water before adding the fish.

Is it just the natural result of all the diseases those fish have? It seemed like about a third of the comets in the tank at petsmart were dead when I went to get these (and I'm sure they clean them out daily). I'm hoping its nothing I've done and the remaining ones will live.

There is a shop that specializes in pond supplies not too far away. When I first went there, they didn't have any comets. Last time I went to get more hyacinths, they had some larger, healthier looking comets. I wish I'd just bought from them to start with. I think I need a few more (there's only one comet left in the 200 gallon pond, think I need at least three or four in there to keep the bugs eaten?) but I'm scared to add any healthy fish in if there are still diseases floating around killing these guys off...

I can't think of what could be killing them other than that they were just in bad shape when I got them -