Fertilizer for Aquatic Plants

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Hey, I am new to ponding and was wondering if there is a certain type of fertilizer that I should use. I have read to use fertilizer sticks but having a hard time finding ones locally for aquatic plants. Could Miracle Gro plant sticks for indoor plants be used, or would it pollute my water and not help plants like lilies?

Also, what types of fertilizer sticks do you use, and how effective are they?

HTH

Howard
Reaction score
I think you can use evergreen plant stick in a crunch. You need to break them into chunks.

We use this brand of fertilizer. The link is to a page with fertilizer that goes directly in the water. They also have lily tabs that you push into the pot.

Reaction score
SouthernCross, if you want to make a run to Ponchatoula, I have water plants for you and can show you what I do with my water lilies. My wife and I are home most of the time during summer. I'll do this for anyone close enough to visit.

Here is a link to some photos of our yard. I grow water lilies and do not have fish ponds yet.

http://s11.photobucket.com/user/magoo_/library/?sort=3&sc=1&page=1

Dan McGehee
Ponchatoula, La

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Nice to meet you Magoo and you have some beautiful pictures on photobucket. At this time, I do have more than enough plants in my pond thanks to Larkin(fishing4cars) helping me out. Ponchatoula is not far, and I still might take you up on a visit. I used to visit relatives of my uncle off of Airport Rd when I was a kid. Do you live in the city limits?

Also, Larkin showed me the fertilizer tablets that he used, and I just got some tablets this evening in the mail. Working most of this weekend, but hopefully I will get some time off Sunday to add some fert tabs.

Reaction score