FILTERS

Joined
Feb 7, 2016
Messages
16
Reaction score
3
Country
Morning all,I am looking for some advice please,I have 2 filters on my pond and have koi and goldfish in there,anyway touch wood everything is fine at the moment,the problem is when I clean the filters out,in summer I do it twice a month,in winter every 4/5 weeks,They are due a clean now,to tell the truth I am not looking forward to it because it is so cold out there,The filters are the ones where the water rise's up though the 3 different sponges and back into the pond,To clean them out means taking the lid off and pulling the sponges from it and then washing each sponge in turn in buckets of pond water,6 sponges all told and about 15 buckets of pond water,so the question is what do you think about these new pressurised filters where you just throw a switch and turn a handle to clean it out,Thanks
 
A

Advertising

mrsclem

mrsclem
Joined
Jul 21, 2008
Messages
2,636
Reaction score
2,333
Location
st. mary's county, md.
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
Hello Delboy- Not sure how cold it gets in your area but the pressure filters are prone to freezing and cracking. They are fine with a very light fish load but can clog and need to be cleaned every day.
 
A

Advertising

Joined
Sep 14, 2013
Messages
4,006
Reaction score
3,136
Location
Cincinnati, Ohio
Hardiness Zone
6 A
Country
We had a pressurized filter crack during the winter :(

When I had a filter with a series of sponges, I never bothered trying to clean them in buckets of pond water, just used the hose and blasted them. Yes, I know that's chlorinated water, but I honestly believe there is plenty of good bacteria in an established pond....and those sponge filters get very clogged.
 
Joined
Jul 29, 2018
Messages
201
Reaction score
252
Location
Exact center of Canada
Hardiness Zone
3?
Country
Not sure how big your pond is but the best filter there is is also the cheapest and no maintenance other than trimming plants it's a bog. You can add one to almost any pond. Post a pic of your pond.
 

sissy

sissy
Joined
Jan 17, 2011
Messages
31,558
Reaction score
14,546
Location
Axton virginia
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
I had 2 of those pressure filters and they were the worst .I have used lava rock and this is the first year in 4 years that I have cleaned the one and the other one I just built last year and only reason I had to do that one was thatr I raised the side of the pond and took out the temporary filter and put in the permanent one .I have 2 stock tank filters 1 on each end of the pond and both have air stones in them and plants growing in them
 

Attachments

Joined
Feb 7, 2016
Messages
16
Reaction score
3
Country
Thanks for replies,don't look good for the pressure filter then,my pond is about 8ft by 6ft and about 3ft deep ,i have 2 lillys in it and it is crystal clear
 

sissy

sissy
Joined
Jan 17, 2011
Messages
31,558
Reaction score
14,546
Location
Axton virginia
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
mine is over 5000 gallons and I had those canister filters on the pond when it was around 2000 gallons and had 2 of them with uv in both and I had to back flush them 4 or 5 times a day and they still got clogged up .I even had a regular filter on my pond at the time
 
Joined
Feb 7, 2016
Messages
16
Reaction score
3
Country
Thank you,Am I on the wrong forum I wonder????? Is there English pond keepers that have these filters,I think the climate is different over here,Thanks
 

mrsclem

mrsclem
Joined
Jul 21, 2008
Messages
2,636
Reaction score
2,333
Location
st. mary's county, md.
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
Right forum. I haven't seen anyone from UK that use pressure filters. If your climate is not prone to deep freezes then you can use the filters but they are not as maintainence free as they advertise.
 
Joined
Feb 7, 2016
Messages
16
Reaction score
3
Country
Right forum. I haven't seen anyone from UK that use pressure filters. If your climate is not prone to deep freezes then you can use the filters but they are not as maintainence free as they advertise.
Right forum. I haven't seen anyone from UK that use pressure filters. If your climate is not prone to deep freezes then you can use the filters but they are not as maintainence free as they advertise.
Thanks.
 
A

Advertising

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top