Filtration problems cloudy water

Reaction score
Country
United States
I’ve had a fish aquarium for probably 6 to 8 months now and I started out with goldfish and a couple of Coi fish. I now have three goldfish which started with me in my 10 gallon tank, and currently have 4 Coi fish, a total of seven fish in a 39 gallon tank. I’ve had intermediary spells of Clearwater but I cannot maintain Clearwater. I’ve had cloudy water problems in mine 39 gallon tank. Maintaining clear water has been an issue. I have recently just today ordered a new filter system so I could start using foam and the filter rings. I ordered a Fluval filter. I am really new at the aquarium hobby and I have only lost two fish in my 10 gallon tank. I understand I need other items like A machine to move the water around more efficiently and something to measure the nitrogen levels in the ammonia levels in my fish tank something that I don’t do often. However today when I pick up my new filter system I will bring my tank water sample and have them test my water. At that time I will know where my levels are. I am needing some suggestions on how I can get a good handle on my pH levels. One of my young cois appears having a little difficulty so before the water levels get out control, I want to be able to conquer this beast of PH any suggestions are welcome. I am still very much a amateur beginner at this new hobby that I really love. I am watching many YouTube videos on how to get the most out of my filtration system and this is why I bought a food Val filter 50 gallon per hour. I am not sure about the wattage but I know my current wattage on my filter is 120 V measuring out to be about ???