Filtration question

Discussion in 'DIY - Do It Yourself' started by Ponderthis, Feb 2, 2010.

  1. Ponderthis

    Ponderthis

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Palm Coast, FL
    Hello,

    I just joined this forum after stumbling across it last night and not being able to leave the site until 5 hours later. I love what y'all are doing with the DIY stuff, and have a couple of probably dumb questions to ask.

    First, let me tell you that a few months ago, on a whim, I decided to build a pond in my side lot. It's under a vine covered Gazebo and we basically dug a hole in the ground, put a liner in it, filled it with water and threw in a pump that would circulate the water every 2 hours or so. It's approximately 1,300 gallons and besides the Heron that ate all of our fish a few weeks ago, was doing very good.

    Since I am now fishless, I would like to rebuild the pond with cinder block sides and make it about 3,500 gallons or so.

    Finally my first question - I have been looking at the 55 gallon filters y'all are DIY'in and was wondering, do these serve as both a biological filter as well as a mechanical filter? Should one 55 gallon filter like this be the only filter I will need to keep my pond clean and clear?

    I'm sure I will have some more Q's, but figured I'd start with the one that will help keep my water clear and be as low-cost as possible.
     
    Ponderthis, Feb 2, 2010
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Ponderthis

    DrDave Innovator Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    6,922
    Likes Received:
    83
    Location:
    Fallbrook, Ca USA
    Welcome to the Forum.
    Go to my site in the signature below and you will see how my 55 gallon "Doc Filter" was built.
     
    DrDave, Feb 2, 2010
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Ponderthis

    Ponderthis

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Palm Coast, FL
    Yeah I already checked it out, and will again. But I was wondering if just one 55 gallon filter would work as the only filter for a 3,500 gallon pond?
     
    Ponderthis, Feb 2, 2010
    #3
  4. Ponderthis

    koiguy1969 GIGGETY-GIGGETY!!

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2008
    Messages:
    10,430
    Likes Received:
    5,901
    Location:
    Michigan zone 5b
    i think i'd go with 2 barrels for 3500 gals...what kind of fish load are you looking to have?
     
    koiguy1969, Feb 3, 2010
    #4
  5. Ponderthis

    DrDave Innovator Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    6,922
    Likes Received:
    83
    Location:
    Fallbrook, Ca USA
    That depends on your fish load.

     
    DrDave, Feb 3, 2010
    #5
  6. Ponderthis

    Ponderthis

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Palm Coast, FL
    Apparently like most Koi lovers, I want as many as I can safely fit into a 3,500 gallon pond and not have to spend every hour I'm not at work cleaning it. According to a website that I had run across somewhere that had a calculator for how many inches of Koi you can fit per gallon of water, it said I should be able to maintain a clean pond with approximately 20 Koi at 3,500 gallons.

    Finding the money to buy 20 Koi will be the next bridge to cross but I could always buy them pretty small and watch em grow I guess.
     
    Ponderthis, Feb 3, 2010
    #6
  7. Ponderthis

    DrCase Moderator Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,435
    Likes Received:
    759
    Location:
    Arkansas
    Small ones grow fast its a good way to get started
    I would use 2 drums on your pond
     
    DrCase, Feb 3, 2010
    #7
  8. Ponderthis

    DoDad

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,658
    Likes Received:
    350
    Location:
    Pacific NW
    How many inches did you figure for each koi when doing your calculations?

     
    DoDad, Feb 3, 2010
    #8
  9. Ponderthis

    DoDad

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,658
    Likes Received:
    350
    Location:
    Pacific NW
    Koi for 3500 gallons I calculate you should go with 7.
     
    DoDad, Feb 3, 2010
    #9
  10. Ponderthis

    DoDad

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,658
    Likes Received:
    350
    Location:
    Pacific NW
    That was figuring the koi at 20".
     
    DoDad, Feb 3, 2010
    #10
  11. Ponderthis

    Ponderthis

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Palm Coast, FL
    I don't remember what site I went to but it calculated that I could have roughly 300 inches of fish on 3,500 gallons. I just visited a couple more sites that calculated more like 140 inches, which would make the 7 fish at 20 inches correct. But since I won't be starting with 20 inch fish (cuz they cost way too much), I think I'll still go with 20 or so and figure out what to do with them when they grow too big for that many to be in the pond. Probably make the pond bigger, lol...

    I think I will go with two 55 gallon drums as suggested then. My only question now is, if I go with 2 drums, can I start with a 1" inlet into the first drum, then have it flow into the second drum just like it does the first drum with a 1" inlet and then use like a 3" outlet to feed the waterfall? Or do I need to go with a 2" inlet into the second drum?

    Thanks for all of the help so far.
     
    Ponderthis, Feb 4, 2010
    #11
  12. Ponderthis

    DrDave Innovator Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    6,922
    Likes Received:
    83
    Location:
    Fallbrook, Ca USA
    Make all your gravity fed outlets 2" or more for a 1" inlet under pressure. I had a 3/4" inlet and a 1 1/4" outlet and that did not work well. I had to choke down the pressure.
    Now I have a 2" outlet and it is perfect for the 3/4" inlet.
     
    DrDave, Feb 4, 2010
    #12
  13. Ponderthis

    DrCase Moderator Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,435
    Likes Received:
    759
    Location:
    Arkansas
    Dito DrDave 2" on any thing comming out of the filter
    Like DoDad said on the fish load , you do have a max on mature fish..start small and weed them out
     
    DrCase, Feb 4, 2010
    #13
  14. Ponderthis

    Ponderthis

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Palm Coast, FL
    Thanks. I have been surfing the web for pumps and thought I had the one that would work picked out. But before I go ahead and buy it:

    The first 55 gallon drum will be about 10' from the pump. I will be going up approximately 4' to get out of the pond and I'm estimating the height to go into the top of the drum is roughly 3'. Add another 2' for estimation errors that would give me a head height of approximately 10.5 if I did my calculations correctly and use flex pipe instead of PVC pipe.

    One of the pumps I was considering is the Tetra Debris Handling Pump DHP-4200, which has max flow of 4,235 gph and handles debris up to 1/4".

    Any thoughts?
     
    Ponderthis, Feb 4, 2010
    #14
  15. Ponderthis

    Bullfrog

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    662
    Likes Received:
    547
    Location:
    Mexico
    I have a link to a very detailed biofilter build with a lot of pictures but can't post it yet. You must have 5 or more posts to include a link or a picture. I'll put it up later. As JW and Freddie Peepers know, I am a man of few words, I have a few words about everything.
     
    Bullfrog, Feb 7, 2010
    #15
  16. Ponderthis

    y2kdejesus

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix, Arizona
    Welcome to the forum Ponderthis. Keep us posted on your progress with ur new pond. Pics are always appreciated....Good luck.
     
    y2kdejesus, Feb 7, 2010
    #16
    1. Advertisements

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.
Similar Threads
  1. koiguy1969

    Filtration Filtration Filtration

    koiguy1969, Jan 2, 2009, in forum: Newbies to Garden Ponds
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    1,899
    koiguy1969
    Jan 3, 2009
  2. djg

    Filtration Question

    djg, Aug 10, 2009, in forum: Newbies to Garden Ponds
    Replies:
    43
    Views:
    4,794
    FredrikAnderson
    Aug 20, 2009
  3. racerx1119

    Additional Filtration Question

    racerx1119, May 21, 2011, in forum: Pond Construction & Equipment
    Replies:
    16
    Views:
    2,157
    fishin4cars
    May 25, 2011
  4. pwncpa

    Filtration/Algae Question

    pwncpa, Apr 8, 2012, in forum: Water Chemistry
    Replies:
    12
    Views:
    1,941
    pwncpa
    Apr 9, 2012
  5. Shotzi21

    New member, filtration question

    Shotzi21, Jun 3, 2013, in forum: Introductions
    Replies:
    8
    Views:
    716
  6. Smilley1234

    New to ponds. Filtration question

    Smilley1234, Jun 5, 2013, in forum: Introductions
    Replies:
    6
    Views:
    456
  7. philip_g

    new pond, another silt filtration question

    philip_g, Oct 25, 2013, in forum: Garden Pond Talk
    Replies:
    8
    Views:
    760
    sissy
    Oct 26, 2013
  8. Mmathis
    Replies:
    6
    Views:
    1,556
    crsublette
    May 12, 2014
Loading...